Wilton Cake Decorating Course 3

Since last Fall (2013) I have been working toward completing the four Wilton Courses offered through our local Joann’s Etc. store. Classes 1 and 4 were completed last Fall before the holidays. Classes 2 and 3 were completed since January of 2014. My last class, Course 3, was completed last night. The cake has eight Calla Lillies on top of a Fondant covered yellow cake torted with a cherry pie filling in between the two 8-inch cakes. The blue decorative trim on the bottom is made out of a blue fondant and gum paste combination. I really liked making the Calla Lillies over the weekend. My husband sure likes me bringing a cake home for him to eat after class and has always liked how the cake looks in the end. Now to practice a lot more with the various flowers and decorations that I have learned over the last several months. Several of the techniques seemed to look harder than they were actually to do thanks to our wonderful instructor Cindy. Woohoo!!

Looking back at getting the Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 Certificate for my Mary Jane’s Farmgirl Sisterhood Beginner’s Cake Decorating Badge has turned into learning so much more about cake decorating than I ever thought would or could be learned in several months. Since taking the courses, I have made a dozen cupcakes for two of my nieces. One neice received decorated cupcakes with flowers on top for her birthday that falls in December and her sister’s cupcakes were decorated Scarlet and Gray and with Anthony Thomas Buckeyes on top for her graduation from OSU in December 2013. Can’t wait to see what I come up with on ideas for a cake to give my mom on Mother’s Day. The fun is just beginning!!

Have a great and creative day.

IMG_20140421_204934

IMG_20140421_204944

Leave a Reply

